Show/Hide

Important Update:
Tempe passed new rules for bike and scooter riders, find out what you need to know here.

Children Are Priceless Passengers

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Children Are Priceless Passengers (CAPP) Program addresses issues of child occupant protection through enforcement, education and public awareness activities.

The CAPP Program offers child seat safety classes at several Maricopa County locations, and are instructed by National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) certified technicians. You are eligible to register for the class if you fit one of these criteria:

  • You received an Arizona Traffic Ticket and Complaint from an Arizona Police Officer who cited you into a court within Arizona for the violation of:
    • 28-907.A (Failure to equip vehicle with a car seat, and or failure to properly use a car seat for a child under 5 years of age.)

    • 28-907.B (Failure to equip vehicle with a booster seat, and or failure to properly use a booster seat for a child between the ages of 5-7, who is under 4'9" tall.)
  • You request to attend the class to learn the proper installation of your current car seat.

Classes are held at various Arizona locations, but at the Tempe Police Department location classes are held once a month. If you are attending as a result of a traffic citation, it is your responsibility to register for a class prior to your court date. If a class is not available prior to your court date, you must call the appropriate court to request an extension. If an extension is granted, you may register for an upcoming class. Failure to register in a timely manner may result in a denial of an extension, or a default judgement in which you would be responsible for the original fine, plus a possible late fee.

To register for one of these classes in Tempe, please call the message line at 480-350-8863. The classes are held at the Tempe Police Department Apache Substation at 1855 E Apache Blvd Tempe AZ 85281.

The Tempe Police Department will host classes on the following dates: 

2019 C.A.P.P. Class Schedules

English Class

7/13/2019           10:00 a.m

8/10/2019          10:00 a.m

9/14/2019          10:00 a.m.

10/19/2019        10:00 a.m.

11/16/2019        10:00 a.m.

12/7/2019          10:00 a.m.

Spanish Class

7/21/2019           1:00 p.m.

9/15/2019           1:00 p.m.

11/17/2019          1:00 p.m.

 

Class fees are $35.00 per car seat violation.

To view a list of other valley locations that offer the CAPP classes, click here.

The following are additional links to learn more about child restraints, and seat belts: