Show/Hide

For the latest news, information and resources on Tempe’s coronavirus response, please visit tempe.gov/coronavirus.

Counseling Services

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Tempe Counseling Program

Professional counseling and mediation services are available to the Tempe
community in an effort to promote individual, family, and community wellness.

The City of Tempe's Westside Multi-Generational Center has a state-licensed outpatient mental health facility with licensed therapists who treat individuals, couples, children, adolescents and families. The services are strictly confidential.

Treatment is available for:

  • Parent/Child Issues
  • Partner Relationship Problems
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Stress
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Grief/Loss
  • Trauma
  • Domestic Violence
  • Substance Abuse
  • Self-Harm
  • Life Transitions
  • Other Emotional and Behavioral Issues
  • Eligibility and Fees

    All Tempe residents and any student who attends a Tempe Union High School District school are eligible for services.

    Fees are $10 - $40 per session based on family size and income.  Please note: Counseling payments are not accepted at this location at this time. Call for payment information.

    Location and Office Hours

    Westside Multi-generational Center
    715 West Fifth Street 
    Tempe, Arizona 85281
    Phone: 480-350-8308

    Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., but evening and Saturday sessions may also be available.

    Mediation Services

    Mediation services assist Tempe residents in conflict resolution between neighbors and in dispute settlement among individuals or community groups who have reached a communication impasse. Proven conflict resolution techniques are applied within a neutral environment where participants can express their concerns and feelings by respectful professionals.  

    Meetings are usually one hour in length and solutions are usually achieved within one or two meetings. There are no fees for mediation services.

    Meetings are held at the Westside Multi-generational Center; see above for location and phone number.

    CARE 7 Youth Specialists

    CARE 7 Youth Specialists provide social and emotional support to high school students in the Tempe Union High School District and middle schoolers in the Tempe Elementary School District.

    COVID-19 update: Youth specialists are still connecting with students while schools are closed. Students who were previously seeing a youth specialist on campus, or who have a need now, can connect via email.

    High schools:

    Desert Vista: Rang Ly at rang_ly@tempe.gov

    Compadre: Sylvia Lopez at Sylvia_lopez@tempe.gov

    Corona Del Sol: Eskesha Clark at Eskesha_clark@tempe.gov

    Marcos De Niza: Tristyn Rivas at Tristyn_rivas@tempe.gov

    McClintock:  Elizabeth Cling at Elizabeth_cling@tempe.gov

    Mountain Pointe: Lorena Valle at Lorena_valle@tempe.gov

    Tempe High: Mike Wilson at mike_wilson@tempe.gov

    Middle schools:

    Kyrene Middle School: Jared Sidman at jared_sidman@tempe.gov

    Connolly Middle School: Michelle Perin-Callahan at michelle_perin-callahan@tempe.gov

    Teen Dating Violence information.

    Useful Links

    2-1-1 Arizona: www.211arizona.org
    Alcohol and Drug Information (prevention): www.samhsa.gov 
    Alcoholics Anonymous: www.aa.org
    American Psychological Association: www.apa.org  
    Birth to Five Help Line: www.swhd.org  
    Crime Victims: www.azdps.gov  
    Health Information for Parents, Kids, and Teens: www.kidshealth.org  
    Mental Health: www.mentalhealth.org  
    Narcotics Anonymous: www.na.org  
    National Mental Health Association: www.nmha.org  
    Parents Anonymous: www.parentsanonymous.org  
    Planned Parenthood: www.plannedparenthood.org 
    Surgeon General: www.surgeongeneral.gov