State of the Neighborhoods + Awards

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The 2019 Awards and Workshop will be held APRIL 13, 2019 at 8:30 a.m. at the Tempe History Museum as part of Mayor Mitchell's State of the Neighborhoods. Mark your calendar!

2019 Awards

Every neighborhood has people and places deserving of recognition. Join us to celebrate residents, properties and businesses that make your neighborhood special. Nominations are now closed for the neighborhood categories. The Arts & Culture category is open through March 10, click here for more information.

Neighbor of the Year Award 

Recognizes neighbors, organizations and businesses that help to strengthen and creatively build the Tempe community through their commitment to and involvement in neighborhoods.

Alley Award

Recognizes neighbors that keep their alleys well maintained, clean and free of weeds and graffiti.

Beautification Award

Recognizes efforts by neighbors to beautify residential properties or community areas that enhance  the neighborhood’s appearance and help create more inviting and comfortable environments.

Sustainability Award

Recognizes residents, organizations and businesses that help to strengthen and creatively build the Tempe community through their commitment to and involvement in sustainability.

2018 Awards

Thank you to everyone that joined us at the 2018 State of the Neighborhoods and Awards. The nominees and award winners for 2018 include: 

Neighbor of the Year Awards
Kathye Allen, Chipperwood Neighborhood - Honorable Mention
John Brittain, Marlborough Park HOA - Honorable Mention
Stephanie Cargill, Hollis Park Neighborhood - Honorable Mention
Debbie Clegg, Shalimar Neighborhood - Honorable Mention
Richard Dippold, Marlborough Park HOA - Honorable Mention
Dave Kellar, Scudder Park Neighborhood - Honorable Mention 
Michele Meyer, Evergreen Neighborhood - Honorable Mention 
Ted and Carolyn Raper, Broadmor Neighborhood - Honorable Mention
Deb Gain-Braley, Papago Park View Neighborhood – Neighbor of the Year Award Winner
Tempe Empty Bowls - Chuck Malpede Neighbor of the Year Award Winner 

Property Beautification Awards 
Michael and Sheila Manion, Alta Mira neighborhood - Honorable Mention
Eric and Debbie Muilenberg, Alta Mira neighborhood - Honorable Mention
John Kozel – Property Beautification Award Winner
John and Emily Tanner, Wilson Arts and Garden neighborhood – Golden Shovel Award Winners

Sustainability Awards
Special Moments Catering - Sustainable Business Award Winner
Arizona State University, NatureWorks and the Ramsey Social Justice Foundation - Sustainable Community Collaboration Award Winner

Historic Preservation Awards 
Kirkland McKinney Ditch Lining Project - Award Winner
Tomlinson Estates Historic District  - Award Winner
Gila River Indian Community  - Award Winner