Meet Your 2020 Mayor and City Council Candidates

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Two Mayoral candidates and five City Council candidates have filed nomination paperwork and have been certified for the March 10, 2020 General Election ballot.  To view information about each candidate, select their name in the Subpage Menu, or in the list below:

The candidates' names are listed in alphabetical order by last name.


Mayor (one seat)

Mark Mitchell

Corey Woods


City Councilmember (three seats)

Casey Clowes

Doreen Garlid

Randy Keating

Joel Navarro

Marc Norman


Elected candidates will be sworn in to four-year terms in July 2020.

Every registered voter in Tempe will automatically receive a ballot in the mail.  Ballots will be mailed starting Feb. 12 for the March 10 election.  Voters can drop off their voted ballots or get replacement ballots at to-be-announced ballot centers in Tempe or at the Maricopa County Recorder’s Office.

Register to vote by Feb. 10 for the March 10 election.  Register to vote through the Maricopa County Elections Department at 602-506-1511 or at

According to the Tempe City Charter, Section 7.01, the Primary Election is held to nominate or elect candidates.  If there are no more than two candidates for each vacancy, the Primary Election is eliminated and the General Election is held on that date.  In the case of the 2020 elections, the General Election will take place March 10.  If needed, a Run-off Election will be held May 19.

Information about the election can be found at  Voters also can call Tempe 311 at 480-350-4311 or email