Rio Salado Enhanced Services Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Rio Salado Enhanced Services Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the City of Tempe and the Rio Salado Community Facilities District (CFD) regarding all policy matters affecting the District.  The establishment of the Commission was memorialized in an Intergovernmental Agreement (C98-121), entered on June 19, 1998 by and between the City of Tempe and the Rio Salado Community Facilities District. 

Apply to serve on the Rio Salado Enhanced Services Commission

Commission Scope and Duties

Policy matters affecting the District specifically include, without limitation, all matters that affect:

  • the District’s Annual Operations and Maintenance Budget;
  • the District’s Capital Budget (including but not limited to repairs, replacements, and additions); and,
  • all policy matters that affect the operations, standards, and the scheduling of activities and uses within the Enhanced Services Area. 

The District comprises five areas as set forth on the Rio Salado CFD map:

  • Hayden Ferry (Area 1),
  • Playa del Norte (Area 2),
  • ASU Waterfront (Area 3),
  • Rio East (Area 4), and
  • Boardwalk West (Area 5).
Commission Composition

The Rio Salado Enhanced Services Commission is comprised of 12 members:  

  • four City Members, holding the following job titles within the City or their respective designees:  Finance and IT Director, Community Development Director, Public Works Director, and Community Services Director;
  • three Landowner Members, comprised of one representative from Area 1 for Hayden Ferry Lakeside, one representative from Area 2 for Playa del Norte, and one from Area 3 for ASU Waterfront;
  • one Public Member who is a resident of the City of Tempe;
  • one representative of Arizona State University (ASU); and,
  • three non-voting members:  one Downtown Tempe Community (DTC) Member, who is a member of the Board of Directors of the DTC, the City of Tempe Community Services Deputy Director, or his/her designee, and an at-large, residential property owner within the District. 

There is no term limit for the members of the Rio Salado Enhanced Services Commission, each of whom shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified.  Each member shall serve until such time as he/she resigns, or is deemed resigned, or is deprived of eligibility for failure to meet the eligibility requirements, or, in the case of the ASU Member, replaced by the President of ASU, or, in case of the Public Member, replaced by the Mayor of the City.  Each term for the Public Member and DTC Member positions are limited to four years.

Commission Meetings

The Rio Salado Enhanced Services meets as needed, usually quarterly, on the second Tuesday of each month at 8:30 a.m., in the Second Floor Conference Room, Orchid House, 21 E. Sixth St., Tempe.

Agendas and Minutes

To view the agendas for upcoming meetings, please see below.  To view agendas and minutes from past meetings, select "All Past".