Library FanCon

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Tempe Public Library FanCon
 ABOUT
 EXHIBITORS
 WHY COMICS  QUESTIONS

Comicon guests, 2017

Saturday, January 26, 2019
10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

The Tempe Public Library Comicon is now FanCon! Celebrating its 5th year, FanCon is an annual event featuring costume contests, artists & authors, shopping, and activities for children and adults alike.  Fans of Marvel, DC, Star Wars, Wholocks, Trekkies, and more are invited to gather at the Tempe Public Library in costume for a celebration of pop culture.

 

FAQs

 

Go to FanCon Facebook event page

View information about our previous events here.

WHY COMICS?

Graphic novel collageSome of you may be asking yourself, "Why would librarians be encouraging people to read comics? Don't they prefer serious books?" The truth is librarians love reading of all kinds!

Comics and graphic novels can encourage literacy and boost reading skills in many ways.

  • Images provide the context necessary to help build vocabulary for ESL & reluctant readers
  • The slow pace of analyzing images and pausing in between panels encourages time to reflect and build reading comprehension
  • Colorful graphics and exciting story lines can captivate attention span & interest
  • Reinforces Common Core standards by reinforcing visual and verbal literacy
  • There are now graphic novels & comics that are creative, enjoyable pieces of literature for all ages

 Additional Sources:
 * Comic Book Legal Defense Fund  * Graphic novels at your library
 * American Libraries  * Comics at your library
 * Scholastic.com  * eComics & Graphic Novels for checkout on Overdrive

 * eComics & Graphic Novels for checkout on hoopla

 

Back to top

QUESTIONS

 

If you are a publisher, bookseller, author, or illustrator interested in participating in the 2019 FanCon please click here:

APPLY HERE

 

 

The event will be held outdoors in the Library plaza.  All exhibitors are required to supply their own tables, chairs and optional canopy.  The Library will supply a 10’ x 10’ space to each exhibitor.

Before applying, please take a moment to view our exhibitor criteria & guidelines.

Sellers:

In order to sell books and merchandise at the event, you are required to have State of Arizona tax license including additional Tempe tax fees. You can obtain your license here.

All other questions, please email:
Jill Brenner, Programming Librarian
jill_brenner@tempe.gov

Back to top

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer