Get the latest health tips and information on coronavirus cancellations and closures at

Tempe Newsroom

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Get your city news emailed to you. Sign up now.

Pedaling towards perfection: nominate Tempe’s next Bike Hero

Bike Hero nominations accepted through April 30

Post Date:02/18/2020 7:20 AM

TEMPE, Ariz. (Feb. 18, 2020) – A Tempe Bike Hero can be a Clark Kent or a Superman when it comes to promoting the bicycling way. What matters is making life better for Tempe’s two-wheeled community. So, whether it’s done in a low-key manner or with public applause, Tempe wants to honor a person or organization that makes biking better in the city.

Tempe is accepting nominations for its 2020 Tempe Bike Hero Award now through April 30. Nominated individuals must live or work in Tempe and nominated organizations must be located in Tempe.

Each year, the Tempe Bike Hero Award recognizes individuals and organizations that aid in increasing awareness of bicycling and promote bicycling as a viable mode of transportation. Winners are selected by the Tempe Transportation Commission, a 15-member Tempe resident advisory board appointed by the Mayor.

Past Bike Hero Award winners include:

  • 2019 – Dr. Trisalyn Nelson
  • 2018 – JC Porter
  • 2017 – Broadmor Elementary Bikecats
  • 2016 – Catherine Brubaker and Bike Saviours
  • 2015 – Erick and Rochelle Geryol
  • 2014 – Ryan and Jennifer Guzy
  • 2013 – Maja Wessels
  • 2012 – Patricia Berning
  • 2011 – Eric Iwersen
  • 2010 – Bicycle Cellar
  • 2009 – Sue Fassett
  • 2008 – Tempe Bicycle Action Group

For more info, or to obtain a nomination form, visit


Media Contact: TaiAnna Yee
Public Information Officer, Transportation

Return to full list >>