City Department News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Nominations open for Tempe's Don Carlos Awards

Post Date:05/21/2019 10:00 AM

Tempe Community Council is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Don Carlos Humanitarian of the Year, volunteer, impact, philanthropy and young humanitarian awards.

Considered Tempe’s most prestigious distinction, the Don Carlos Humanitarian Award honors an individual or couple who has given outstanding service to the community, has benefited those in need in lasting ways and has made Tempe a better place to live.  The award embodies the legacy, character and spirit of Charles Trumbull Hayden - known by Spanish pioneers as “Don Carlos” – who spent his life working to help those in need.  Awards are also presented to a notable philanthropist, volunteer and young humanitarian who have contributed in significant ways by serving the Tempe community.  

“Tempe has many great people who do amazing things to help those less fortunate in our community,” said TCC Board President Brandon Willey.  “We look to our residents and neighbors to elevate and illuminate the good works of those who inspire others by nominating the unsung heroes who help make Tempe a caring community.” 

Nominations can be submitted online at  For information about the awards or nominations email or call 480-858-2310.  The deadline for submitting a nomination is June 16.

Winners will be honored at the 36th Don Carlos Humanitarian Awards event being held on October 2, 2019.

Past Don Carlos Humanitarian Awardees

Dr. William Payne, Leonard Monti, Sr., Margaret & William Kajikawa, Jinnett B. Kirk, Peggy Bryant, Eliza Carney, Naomi Harward, Mimi & Mac Bohlman, Virginia Tinsley, Betty & John Waters, Pat Hatton, Lawn Griffiths, Rudy Campbell, Bobbie & George Overby, Sue & Bob Lofgren, Carol E. Smith, Sue Searcy, Zita Johnson, Bobbie & Don Cassano, David B. Cutty, Joseph Spracale, Jane & Dick Neuheisel, Gail Fisher & Mel Kessler, Linda Spears, Pen Johnson, Sue Ringler, Catherine May & Dan Abbott, Alice & Ralph Goitia, Harry E. Mitchell, Kerry Fetherston, Neil G. Giuliano, Raveen Arora, Shana Ellis, Kathy Stevens and Dr. Christine Wilkinson.

Return to full list >>