Library Comicon

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Why Comics?




Saturday, January 27, 2018
10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

TPL Comicon 2017
The Library Comicon is an annual event featuring costume contests, artists & authors, shopping, and activities for children and adults alike.  Fans of Marvel, DC, Star Wars, Wholocks, Trekkies, and more are invited to gather at the Tempe Public Library in costume for a celebration of pop culture.





View information about our previous Comicon events here:

2015 | 2016 | 2017


NOTICE: The Tempe Public Library Comicon is not affiliated in any way with the San Diego Comic-Con International. To eliminate any confusion, we’ll be rebranding our multi-genre entertainment and comic festival in 2019. We’ll be working to transfer the our website, social media, and other assets to the new name this year.


Contests & Activities

Interactive fun throughout the day. Expand each section for details.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Costume Parade United Zombies of America

March in a parade around the Tempe Community Center Community Complex before the costume contests begin. Led by United Zombies of America.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Costume Contest

Contests in Youth, Teen, Adult, and Group categories. Hosted by the Blue Ribbon Army.
Blue Ribbon Army (B.R.A.) is a 501(c)7 social club focused on giving like-minded geeks a place to meet new friends. Throughout the year they host several events, as well as taking on many projects for charity. They participate in events such as pop culture conventions, arcades, BBQs, tea parties, the Renaissance Festival, and more.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Scavenger Hunt

Search the Comicon for stamps to complete your sheet, earn prizes for reaching different levels of stamps found, with a bonus for finding them all. You can win signed comics, cosplay goodies, a Nintendo console, games and much more! Pick up your game card at the AZ Cosplay Team booth, space #14.

Tempe Public Library Nerf Adventure

Join AZ Cosplay Team in a nerf adventure! They supply 20 Nerf guns, 5 Nerf grenades, 2 guard towers, a tunnel, and a gatling Nerf gun with two barrels. Can you rescue your teammate while battling the defenders? Lets find out!!
Be prepared for physical activity such as shooting nerf guns, running, jumping, climbing, running around obstacles, tossing nerf balls, etc.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Gaming Lounge

Teen gaming lounge. Play video games on the large screens! Ages 12 - 18.

Panels & Presentations

Engaging discussions and workshops for all fandoms to enjoy. Expand each section for details.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Cactus Brick

Members of Cactus Brick AZ discuss their process of creating with LEGO bricks. Whether they are replicating a structure, character or vehicle each member has their own way of figuring out which elements are necessary and how to put it all together. After the participating members explain how they build without instructions, the panel will be open to questions. It doesn't matter if you are new to LEGO building or are currently a MOC builder there may be something of interest for you as Cactus Brick AZ puts on approximately 20 displays a year.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Childsplay Panel Creating theatrical costumes is similar to the process of recreating costumes from your favorite graphic novel, book, movie or TV show. This presentation will discuss the various methods costumers use to analyze a rendering and turn a two dimensional image into a three dimensional costume. Examples will be provided from Childsplay's costume stock.
Gail Wolfenden-Steib is an award-winning theatrical costume designer based in Phoenix, Arizona/ She has been the resident costume designer for Stageworks at the Mesa Arts Center, Phoenix Theatre and Phoenix Theatre’s Cookie Company. Her design and construction work has been seen on numerous stages around the valley since 1994. This past summer marked her 19th season as the costume painter/dyer for the Tony Award Winning Utah Shakespeare Festival. In 2007 she presented the sold out professional development workshop on costume distressing at the USITT national conference in Phoenix. She has been working as a draper in the Childsplay costume shop the past 5 seasons.


Tempe Public Library Comicon Anime Carlos Nieto III

Artist Carlos Nieto III will be leading a 90 minute anime workshop as part of the Anime Your Way program. Ensure your spot by getting a ticket at the Comicon Info booth. 14 yrs +.
Nieto's has worked on the Emmy-winning shows such as The Simpsons and King of the Hill as a layout artist. He has also worked as a Visual Consultant for Disney and Universal, creating sketches and final art for set designs as well as conducting comic book making, anime and animation drawing workshops at libraries across the country.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Cosplay Panel

Local cosplay groups will sit and discuss the craft. Members from the Royal Manticoran Navy, Southwest Costumers Guild, 105th Squad Phoenix Hive, and Society for Creative Anachronism will be present.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Comic Panel

Panel discussion about the process of creating and publishing comics and graphic novels. Representatives from Crucidel Productions and Loathesome Comics, as well as graphic novel creator Natsuya Uesugi will be present.


For Kids

Fun stuff to do for children and families. Expand each section for details.

Tempe Public Library Storytime

Join Ms. Alicia for Tempe Public Library's regularly scheduled Saturday Storytime. Parents and children will delight in the joys of stories, songs, rhymes, movement activities, and fingerplays that encourage early learning.

Tempe Public Library Scavenger Hunt

Kids can participate in a fun scavenger hunt around the library. Prizes will be available at the Youth desk.

Story Monsters

Visit and get your photo taken with the big, lovable Story Monster at the Story Monsters LLC booth! Story Monsters LLC is the home of the award-winning Story Monsters Ink magazine and the Story Monsters Approved! book designation program which highlights books that inspire, inform, teach, and entertain.

Tempe Public Library Comicon Games

Join the Youth Library in Comicon themed games and crafts in the Northwest parking lot. Activities include: Phonebooth Makeover, Kryptonite Crash, Superhero Balloon Pop, Arch Enemy Knock Down, and Nemesis Matching. More crafts such as Superhero Paper Dolls can be found near the Connections Café.



Graphic Novel CollageSome of you may be asking yourself, "Why would librarians be encouraging people to read comics? Don't they only like serious books?" The truth is librarians love reading of all kinds!

Comics and graphic novels can encourage literacy and boost reading skills in many ways.

  • Images provide the context necessary to help build vocabulary for ESL & reluctant readers
  • The slow pace of analyzing images and pausing in between panels encourages time to reflect and build reading comprehension
  • Colorful graphics and exciting story lines can captivate attention span & interest
  • Reinforces Common Core standards by reinforcing visual and verbal literacy
  • There are now graphic novels & comics that are creative, enjoyable pieces of literature for all ages

 Additional Sources:
 * Comic Book Legal Defense Fund  * Graphic novels at your library
 * American Libraries  * Comics at your library
 *  * eComics & Graphic Novels for checkout on Overdrive

 * eComics & Graphic Novels for checkout on hoopla


Back to top



The 2018 Comicon is now full.
If you are a publisher, bookseller, author, or illustrator interested in applying for the wait list, please click here:

Apply Here



The event will be held outdoors in the Library plaza.  All exhibitors are required to supply their own tables, chairs and optional canopy.  The Library will supply a 10’ x 10’ space to each exhibitor.

Before applying, please take a moment to view our vendor criteria & guidelines.


In order to sell books and merchandise at the event, you are required to have State of Arizona tax license including additional Tempe tax fees. You can obtain your license here.

All other questions, please email:
Jill Brenner, Programming Librarian

Back to top

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer