Neighborhood Advisory Commission


The Neighborhood Advisory Commission, created in 2000, is comprised of 15 Tempe residents who have resided in the City of Tempe for a minimum of one year. Representation is based on the geographic distribution of population in four zip code areas. Meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of every month, 5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m., at City Hall, 31 E. 5th Street, Tempe in the 3rd floor conference room. The Commission is charged with the following duties:

  1. to propose and/or make recommendations to the Mayor and City Council and City departments on specific programs that are designed to build upon neighborhood strengths as well as to prevent the decline of neighborhoods;
  2. to review projects and concepts developed or proposed by the Neighborhood Services Division staff, the Neighborhood Advisory Commission and by citizens to the Commission; and
  3. to assist and advise the Mayor and City Council and City departments on ways in which information on neighborhood topics can be gathered and/or disseminated through surveys, neighborhood recognition programs or forums.
This Commission will not affect the status or autonomy of existing neighborhood and homeowners' associations. These will continue to serve as the voices of their residential areas. This Commission will not limit the right of any individual Tempe resident from approaching the Mayor and Council or City staff on any issue. The Neighborhood Advisory Commission will deal with holistic neighborhood issues – issues that impact the entire community ranging from public notification procedures to the creation of neighborhood leadership programs to the review of some City laws that impact neighborhoods – e.g. the effectiveness of the City’s Rental Housing Code.

There are currently no vacancies on the Commission. If you are interested in being on the Commission, please visit the City Clerk's page to fill out an application.

Neighborhood Advisory Commission Members

Robert Miller, Chair 

       Kiyomi Kurooka     

     Julie Ramsey        

Russell Plieseis, Vice Chair

 Nancy Lesko

 Joaquin Rios

 Karen Adams

JoEllen McNamara

Scott Smas

 Nancy Buell

Jon Mulford

Bill Wagner

Arlene Chin

Bill Munch

Christopher Ware

 Cole Hickman 





Neighborhood Advisory Commission Agendas and Minutes

For more information about the Neighborhood Advisory Commission, please contact Neighborhood Services at 480-350-8234 or