Contact Us


Tempe's Community Development Department is responsible for ensuring positive, safe development for Tempe businesses and residents. The wide-ranging department consists of several divisions in many buildings within the community. Here's how to reach the division and people you need:

Community Development Director

Jeff Tamulevich
Interim Community Development Director

Ryan  Levesque
Deputy Community Development Director/Planning

Deputy Community Development Director/Development Services

Michael Spencer
Interim Code Enforcement Manager

John Southard
Senior Planner - Historic Preservation

City Architect

Hunter Hansen
Senior Planner - Character Areas

Larry Schmalz
Principal Planner - Redevelopment and Revitalization

Alex Smith
Deputy Community Development Director
Special Projects/Real Estate Development

Shauna Warner
Neighborhood Program Manager


Email questions or comments about this page to Elizabeth_Guzzo@Tempe.Gov




Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer