Historic Preservation Commission


The Historic Preservation Commission advises the City Council in all matters concerning historic preservation. The mission of the Commission is to provide protection for significant properties and archeological sites that represent important aspects of Tempe’s heritage; to enhance the character of the community by taking such properties and sites into account during development; and to assist owners in the preservation and restoration of their properties.

The Commission consists of nine (9) members, who are Tempe residents with a demonstrated interest in or knowledge of historic preservation. Terms are for three years. The membership of the Commission includes four (4) at-large members and five (5) professionals, drawn from the following disciplines, with no more than two (2) such professionals from the same discipline: architecture, architectural history, archeology, historic preservation law, history, landscape architecture, planning, building construction, or other related field. The Commission must hold a minimum of four (4) public meetings/hearings per year. Special meetings may be called at the discretion of the Commission chair or five (5) or more members of the Commission.  Meetings are usually held at 6:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month, in Hatton Hall, 34 East Seventh Street, Tempe.  (City Code, Chapter 14A, Section 14A-3; Zoning and Development Code, Part 1, Chapter 3, Section 1-304)

To view current information and membership, click here.

To access agendas and minutes for meetings prior to 2012, visit the Archives.

Apply to serve on the Historic Preservation Commission