City Department News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Nominate Tempe’s next bicycle hero

Post Date:09/12/2017 7:20 AM

A Tempe Bike Hero can be a Clark Kent, a Superman or The Incredibles. When it comes to promoting the bicycling way, what matters is making life better for Tempe’s two-wheeled community. So, whether it’s done in a low-key manner or with public applause, Tempe wants to honor a person or organization that makes biking better in our city.

The Tempe Transportation Commission is accepting nominations for its 2017 Tempe Bike Hero Award through Nov. 30. Nominated individuals must live or work in Tempe, and nominated organizations must be located in Tempe. Past Bike Hero Award winners include:

  • 2017 - Broadmor Elementary Bikecats
  • 2016 - Catherine Brubaker and Bike Saviours
  • 2015 - Erick and Rochelle Geryol
  • 2014 – Ryan and Jennifer Guzy
  • 2013 – Maja Wessels
  • 2012 – Patricia Berning
  • 2011 - Eric Iwersen
  • 2010 - Bicycle Cellar
  • 2009 - Sue Fassett
  • 2008 - Tempe Bicycle Action Group

For more information or to obtain a Tempe Bike Hero Award nomination form, visit

Media Contact:
Amanda Nelson


Return to full list >>